BEaton e Dibaba As every year, IAAF voted fot the male and female athlete of the year; this year Usain Bolt, Ashton Eaton, Christian Taylor, Genzebe Dibaba, Dafne Schippers and Anita Wlodarczy competed for the title.

Unlike last year, none athlete decided to refuse the prize because of the presence of doped athletes on the list, even though the ceremony took place during a private dinner because the scandals which involved the World Federation ex President, Lamine Diack.

The decathlete Ashton Eaton and the middle-distance runner Genzebe Dibaba secured the victory: during this 2015 both of them won the world title and they stated the new WR, Eaton on decathlon and Dibaba on 1500m event.

Eaton is the first decathlete who carried off the title of Best Athlete of the year and he declared to feel honoured for the prize achieved since it is a recognition of the job done, even if he does not think to be better than Bolt and Taylor and he is glad to be part of the trio.

Instead, Dibaba reached the final last year but she did succeed in the end; it was a very intense year for her who received the first world championship golden medal and, now, the first title of Best Athlete of the year.

Photo Giancarlo Colombo/IAAF


Leave a comment



  • Austrian
  • Deutsch
  • Danish
  • International
  • Suomi
  • Français
  • Magyar
  • Italiano

PHOTOS: 61st Campacc...

2018 for us started with a bit of cold and some mud.  [ Read More ]

PHOTOS: Bruxelles Di...

The second, and last, Diamond League 2017 leg for us this year  [ Read More ]

PHOTOS: World Mounta...

Last Sunday, North Italy hosted the World Mountain Running Championships of Premana  [ Read More ]

PHOTOS: European Ath...

We are shooting at the European U20 Championships 2017 in Grosseto, Italy.  [ Read More ]

PHOTOS: Rome Diamond...

Yesterday in Italy has been held the Rome Diamond League 2017, named  [ Read More ]

VIDEO: Genzebe Dibab...

Incredibile Diamond League in  Monaco. To light up the evening this time is  [ Read More ]

PHOTOS: Bruxelles Di...

The second, and last, Diamond League 2017 leg for us this year  [ Read More ]

PHOTO: European Athl...

Last sunday in Italy have been held the European Athletics Cross Country  [ Read More ]

Sweden wins the Finn...

Day two of the Finnkampen / Ruotsiottelu in Tampere was welcomed by  [ Read More ]

PHOTOS: Combined Eve...

Yesterday in Caorle, Italy, the Combined Events International Match between France, Switzerland  [ Read More ]

PHOTOS: London Diamo...

Bolt’s return, Kendra Harrison’s World Record, Mo Farah’s World Lead. This has  [ Read More ]


facebook twitter instagram youtube Google+ rss

Android app on Google Play iOS app su App Storerss